jump to navigation

Toys Czarn’t Us September 19, 2010

Posted by John D. Moore in Merchandise.
trackback

“Nerd news” site ToplessRobot posted last year a list of “The 10 Most Tragically Unreleased Action Figure Lines.”  Among them were these,  the stuff of my dreams, circa 1992: a large expansion of the Darkwing Duck toy line, including Negaduck, Gizmoduck, Quackerjack, the Liquidator, Morgana (!), and even SHUSH personnel.  Apparently, Playmates was all but ready to roll on these.  Who knows why the plug got pulled, but pulled it was.

Unreleased series 2 Darkwing Duck action figures, including Negaduck, Morgana MacCawber, Gizmoduck, J. Gander Hooter, Grizzlykopf, Quackerjack, and Eggmen

Is it just me, or does Liquey look a little terrifying?

Almost 20 years on, all we can do is sigh wistfully for what never was to be.  It’s also making me wish I’d gotten around to getting that second Darkwing figure to paint in Negs’s colors.

Comments»

1. Roaming Tigress - September 19, 2010

I saw this a few months ago but wow. I would have so loved to have the full set.

2. John D. Moore - September 20, 2010

This is a terribly nerdy thing to admit to, but shortly after seeing these for the first time a few months ago, I dreamed that I found a shipment of the entire run in the back of my grandfather’s store.

…Or maybe it was a daydream.

3. Lady Niniane - September 20, 2010

I remember running across this image during a Google search a while back, but I never did see the explanation. Very cool!

And yes, Liquidator does look somewhat eerie there. J. Gander looks like he’s either rocking out or telling me to live long and prosper.


Leave a Reply

