jump to navigation

DarkwInks October 23, 2010

Posted by John D. Moore in Comics News.
trackback

Everyone out there enjoying the first issue of Crisis on Infinite Darkwings?  I’ve read it a couple times.  Hopefully, I can get post some thoughts on both the fifth issue and the Duck Knight Returns arc before too long.  In the meantime (and I’m sure a lot of you have seen this already), I wanted to direct your attention to a post made by artist James Silvani on his blog a few months ago where he describes and illustrates his drawing process, from layouts to pencils to inking.  He shows us the glorious, initial spread from episode 1.

Watching his process progress is fascinating, especially how refinement, detail, and life he gives his pages in the inking stage.  I adore Andrew Dalhouse’s colors and think they really help make the book, especially in the way it vibrantly recalls the series.  But if Boom! wanted to release a limited edition of the comics with just Silvani’s raw inks, I’d so go for it.

Comments»

1. Mike Russo - October 23, 2010

I personally think it looks better without the colors.

2. John D. Moore - October 24, 2010

Without the colors, you certainly get a deeper appreciation for the fantastic crispness, fluidity, and detail of Silvani’s inks. I’ve found myself looking at this image a lot. I’d love to peruse all of his pages.


Leave a Reply

